Colorado Springs and Fort Collins Municipal Election Results Are In

Colorado Springs and Fort Collins Municipal Election Results Are In

Apr 08, 2019

Client Alert

Brownstein Client Alert, April 8, 2019

After last week’s municipal elections in Colorado Springs and Fort Collins, both mayors kept their seats in both cities while one of the city council races in Fort Collins is still too close to call. In addition, voters decided ballot measures in each jurisdiction.

In Colorado Springs, Mayor John Suthers will serve another four years after beating out three other challengers with more than 70 percent of the vote. Tom Strand and Bill Murray were also re-elected to at-large council seats, and former Colorado Secretary of State Wayne Williams was elected to another. Voters also opposed a ballot measure that would have allowed collective bargaining for the city’s firefighters.

Colorado Springs Mayor and City Council until 2021:

  • Mayor: John Suthers (re-elected in 2019)
  • District 1: Don Knight (re-elected in 2017)
  • District 2: David Geislinger (elected in 2017)
  • District 3: Richard Skorman, Council President (elected in 2017)
  • District 4: Yolanda Avila (elected in 2017)
  • District 5: Jill Gaebler, President Pro-Tem (re-elected in 2017)
  • District 6: Andy Pico (re-elected in 2017)
  • At-large: Tom Strand (re-elected in 2019)
  • At-large: Bill Murray (re-elected in 2019)
  • At-large: Wayne Williams (elected in 2019)

In Fort Collins, Mayor Wade Troxell won a third term with more than two thirds of the vote. Council members Kristin Stephens and Susan Gutowsky will also keep their seats. Emily Gorgol will be a new face on city council for District 6, replacing term-limited Gerry Horak.

The race for term-limited Ray Martinez’s District 2 seat remains undecided. Julie Pignataro leads Noah Hutchinson by 30 votes, and the city code requires a recount if the race is within 0.5 percent of the votes cast. The city still has until April 10 to count military and overseas ballots and to accept corrected signatures on ballots where a voter’s signature does not match the signature the city clerk has on file.

A ballot measure to keep the Keep Fort Collins Great sales tax passed with 60 percent of the vote, while another measure changing the city’s charter to pay city council members a full-time salary lost by almost as many votes.

Fort Collins Mayor and City Council until 2021:

  • Mayor: Wade Troxell, Mayor (re-elected 2019)
  • District 1: Susan Gutowsky (elected 2019)
  • District 2 (Undecided): Julie Pignataro/Noah Hutchison (elected 2019)
  • District 3: Ken Summers (elected 2017)
  • District 4: Kristin Stephens (re-elected 2019)
  • District 5: Russ Cunniff (elected 2017)
  • District 6: Emily Gorgol (elected 2019)

This document is intended to provide you with general information regarding municipal election results in Colorado Springs and Fort Collins, Colorado. The contents of this document are not intended to provide specific legal advice. If you have any questions about the contents of this document or if you need legal advice as to an issue, please contact the attorneys listed or your regular Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP attorney. This communication may be considered advertising in some jurisdictions.

Meet The Team

Sarah M. Mercer Shareholder T 303.223.1139