Analysis of Senate-Passed CARES Act

Analysis of Senate-Passed CARES Act

Mar 26, 2020

Client Alert

Brownstein Client Alert, March 26, 2020

On March 25, the Senate approved a $2 trillion stimulus package, the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act, to address the economic and health impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic. The bill now moves to the House for a vote on Friday. The House is expected to approve the bill and send it to President Donald Trump for his signature.

This client alert provides a summary and analysis of the legislation’s following provisions:

  • Division A—Keeping Workers Paid and Employed, Health Care System Enhancements and Economic Stabilization
    • Title I—Keeping American Workers Employed and Paid Act
    • Title II—Assistance for American Workers, Families and Businesses 
      • Subtitle A—Unemployment Insurance Provisions 
      • Subtitle B—Rebates and Other Individual Provisions 
      • Subtitle C—Business Provisions 
    • Title III—Supporting America’s Health Care System in the Fight Against the Coronavirus 
      • Subtitle A—Health Provisions
        • Part I—Addressing Supply Shortages  
          • Subpart A—Medical Product Supplies 
          • Subpart B—Mitigating Emergency Drug Shortages
          • Subpart C—Preventing Medical Device Shortages
        • Part II— Access to Health Care for Covid-19 Patients
          • Subpart A—Coverage Of Testing And Preventive Services
          • Subpart B—Support For Health Care Providers
          • Subpart C—Miscellaneous Provisions
        • Part III—Innovation
        • Part IV—Health Care Workforce
      • Subtitle B—Education Provisions
      • Subtitle C—Labor Provisions 
      • Subtitle D—Finance Committee 
      • Subtitle E—Health and Human Services Extenders 
        • Part I –Medicare Provisions
        • Part II—Medicaid Provisions
        • Part III—Human Services and Other Health Programs
        • Part IV—Public Health Provisions
        • Part V—Miscellaneous Provisions
      • Subtitle F—Over-the-Counter Drugs 
        • Part I—Over-the-Counter Drug Review
        • Part II—User Fees
      • Title IV—Economic Stabilization and Assistance to Severely Distressed Sectors of the U.S. Economy
        • Subtitle A—Economic Stablizaton Act of 2020
        • Subtitle B—Air Carrier Worker Support
    • Division B—Emergency Appropriations for Coronavirus Health Response and Agency Operations

    Please click here for our full analysis. 

Information is changing daily and some of the content included in this alert may have changed or been updated since publication.

Click here to read more Brownstein alerts on the legal issues the coronavirus pandemic raises for businesses.

This document is intended to provide you with general information regarding economic updates related to coronavirus. The contents of this document are not intended to provide specific legal advice. If you have any questions about the contents of this document or if you need legal advice as to an issue, please contact the attorneys listed or your regular Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP attorney. This communication may be considered advertising in some jurisdictions.

Meet The Team

Rosemary Becchi Strategic Advisor and Counsel T 202.383.4421 rbecchi@bhfs.com
Gregory W. Berger Shareholder T 303.223.1158 gberger@bhfs.com
Katelynn Bradley Shareholder T 202.383.5903 kbradley@bhfs.com
Annmarie Conboy-DePasquale Policy Assistant T 202.216.4865 aconboy-depasquale@bhfs.com
Julian R. Ellis, Jr. Associate T 303.223.1142 jellis@bhfs.com
Emily Felder Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel T 202.216.4861 efelder@bhfs.com
Gregory M. Janssen Associate T 303.223.1288 gjanssen@bhfs.com
Harold Hancock Shareholder T 202.383.4422 hhancock@bhfs.com
Reese Goldsmith Policy Advisor and Associate T 202.747.0505 rgoldsmith@bhfs.com
Christopher O. Murray Shareholder T 303.223.1183 cmurray@bhfs.com
David B. Meschke Associate T 303.223.1219 dmeschke@bhfs.com
Sarah M. Mercer Shareholder T 303.223.1139 smercer@bhfs.com
Travis J. Norton Of Counsel T 202.872.5287 tnorton@bhfs.com
Anne C. Starke Policy Advisor and Associate T 202.872.5297 astarke@bhfs.com
David M. Spaulding Shareholder T 303.223.1241 dspaulding@bhfs.com
Jay Spader Shareholder T 303.223.1146 jspader@bhfs.com
Nancy A. Strelau Shareholder T 303.223.1151 nstrelau@bhfs.com
Russell W. Sullivan Shareholder T 202.383.4423 rsullivan@bhfs.com
Araceli Gutierrez Policy Advisor T 202.383.4714 agutierrez@bhfs.com
Charlie A. Iovino Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel T 202.383.4424 ciovino@bhfs.com
Daniel Joseph Policy Advisor T 202.216.4864 djoseph@bhfs.com
Lori Harju Policy Director T 202.747.0519 lharju@bhfs.com
Michael P. Marn Policy Assistant T 202.652.2355 mmarn@bhfs.com
Radha Mohan Policy Advisor and Associate T 202.383.4425 rmohan@bhfs.com
Sage Schaftel Policy Assistant T 202.383.4716 sschaftel@bhfs.com