Lawmakers Introduce Technical Corrections to Coronavirus Package

Lawmakers Introduce Technical Corrections to Coronavirus Package

Mar 16, 2020

Client Alert

Brownstein Client Alert, March 16, 2020

Earlier today, lawmakers introduced a set of technical corrections to the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (H.R.6201), which passed the House early Saturday morning.

The House previously intended to approve the measure by unanimous consent. However, this may no longer be possible. Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-TX) has indicated that he plans to block the technical corrections bill. This will delay passage of the bill.

Once the House approves the bill, it will move to the Senate for consideration. A number of Republican senators have objected to the original House-approved bill. It is unclear as to whether the latest round of technical corrections have addressed their concerns. If the Senate amends the legislation, it will necessarily head back to the House, further delaying passage.

Earlier this afternoon, during a coronavirus task force meeting, President Trump said the administration is thinking of “expanding” the 500-worker limit for mandatory paid sick leave through the Senate process. He said, “We want fairness. We want it for everybody” and “we may very well be adding something on that.”

The technical corrections package can be found here.

For additional information or assistance with a particular issue, please contact a member of the Brownstein Tax Policy Group.

Click here to read more Brownstein alerts on the legal issues the coronavirus threat raises for businesses.

This document is intended to provide you with general information regarding economic updates related to coronavirus. The contents of this document are not intended to provide specific legal advice. If you have any questions about the contents of this document or if you need legal advice as to an issue, please contact the attorneys listed or your regular Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP attorney. This communication may be considered advertising in some jurisdictions.

Meet The Team

Russell W. Sullivan Shareholder T 202.383.4423 rsullivan@bhfs.com
Rosemary Becchi Strategic Advisor and Counsel T 202.383.4421 rbecchi@bhfs.com
Harold Hancock Shareholder T 202.383.4422 hhancock@bhfs.com
Anne C. Starke Policy Advisor and Associate T 202.872.5297 astarke@bhfs.com
Charlie A. Iovino Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel T 202.383.4424 ciovino@bhfs.com
Lori Harju Policy Director T 202.747.0519 lharju@bhfs.com
Michael P. Marn Policy Assistant T 202.652.2355 mmarn@bhfs.com
Radha Mohan Policy Advisor and Associate T 202.383.4425 rmohan@bhfs.com
Sage Schaftel Policy Assistant T 202.383.4716 sschaftel@bhfs.com