Treasury Department Releases Key Terms for Phase Three Stimulus

Treasury Department Releases Key Terms for Phase Three Stimulus

Mar 18, 2020

Client Alert

The Treasury Department released a document outlining the key terms of its negotiations on the upcoming third phase of the congressional economic stimulus package. Below are the terms as outlined by the department:

Appropriation to the Exchange Stabilization Fund for Specified Uses

  • Airline Industry Secured Lending Facility. The Treasury Department would provide $50 billion to secure lending for passenger and cargo carriers, with the interest rate to be determined by the department. Borrowers would be required to outline plans for continuation of service and limitations on increases in executive compensation until the loans are repaid.
  • Other Severely Distressed Sectors of the U.S. Economy. The Treasury Department would provide an additional $150 billion to secure lending and loan guarantees to sectors undergoing significant strain due to the coronavirus.

Temporarily Permit Use of the Exchange Stabilization Fund to Guarantee Money Market Mutual Fund

The Treasury Department would temporarily suspend the ESF limit for guarantee programs related to the U.S. money market mutual fund industry. The new statutory authority would be extinguished at the conclusion of the presidentially declared national emergency.

Economic Impact Payments

The Treasury Department would authorize and appropriate funds for two installments of direct payments to individuals through the Internal Revenue Service and the Bureau of the Fiscal Service. The federal government would provide $250 billion by April 6 and another $250 billion by May 18, and each individual would receive the same amount both times. The payments would be based on income level and family size.

Small Business Interruption Loans

In an attempt to provide continuity of employment due to virus-related business interruptions, the Treasury Department would establish a small business interruption loan program. The department would provide $300  billion for the new program, which would provide a 100% guarantee on each qualifying loan.

Employers with fewer than 500 workers would be eligible for the loans, which would provide businesses six weeks of payroll, with an upper limit of $1,540 per week per employee (about $80,000 annually). Additionally, borrowers must continue paying all employees for at least eight weeks once the loan is provided.

The document can be found here.

 

Meet The Team

Rosemary Becchi Strategic Advisor and Counsel T 202.383.4421 rbecchi@bhfs.com
Annmarie Conboy-DePasquale Policy Assistant T 202.216.4865 aconboy-depasquale@bhfs.com
Harold Hancock Shareholder T 202.383.4422 hhancock@bhfs.com
Lori Harju Policy Director T 202.747.0519 lharju@bhfs.com
Charlie A. Iovino Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel T 202.383.4424 ciovino@bhfs.com
Daniel Joseph Policy Advisor T 202.216.4864 djoseph@bhfs.com
Anne C. Starke Policy Advisor and Associate T 202.872.5297 astarke@bhfs.com
Russell W. Sullivan Shareholder T 202.383.4423 rsullivan@bhfs.com
Michael P. Marn Policy Assistant T 202.652.2355 mmarn@bhfs.com
Radha Mohan Policy Advisor and Associate T 202.383.4425 rmohan@bhfs.com
Sage Schaftel Policy Assistant T 202.383.4716 sschaftel@bhfs.com