Gardenswartz, Alissa H.

Alissa brings a wide scope of consumer protection and antitrust expertise and more than a decade of public sector experience to her practice. As both an accomplished litigator and respected former regulator, Alissa helps clients navigate inquiries from both state attorneys general and federal authorities through her extensive substantive knowledge of the law and her relationships with government officials across the country. Alissa also uses her background to work with clients in developing proactive litigation and compliance strategies that mitigate risk while maintaining profitability. 

Prior to joining Brownstein, Alissa served as the deputy attorney general for consumer protection in the Colorado Attorney General’s office, where she oversaw all of the office’s consumer protection and antitrust enforcement activities, including multistate actions. She frequently testified before the Colorado General Assembly on consumer protection legislation and was one of the principal drafters of Colorado’s new data protection and breach notification laws. Before she was appointed deputy attorney general, Alissa litigated several high-profile false advertising, financial fraud, antitrust and charity fraud cases as an assistant attorney general. While in the attorney general’s office, she served as president of the National Association of State Charity Officials and as faculty for both the National Attorneys General Training & Research Institute and the National Institute for Trial Advocacy. Alissa previously worked in private practice in both Denver and Washington, D.C., and began her career with the U.S. Federal Trade Commission Bureau of Competition, where she earned awards for outstanding contributions to the FTC’s Merger Enforcement and Merger Litigation programs.

Alissa’s substantive expertise includes unfair and deceptive acts and practices (UDAP) law, federal and state antitrust law, regulation of consumer credit and alternative financial products, data privacy, False Claims Act (FCA) issues and nonprofit regulation.

News & Events

Board of Directors, Roundup River Ranch

Publications & Presentations
  • J.D., 1996, University of Chicago Law School
  • B.A., 1992, magna cum laude, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Colorado
  • New York

Colorado Women's Bar Association

Faculty Member, National Attorneys General Training and Research Institute

Faculty Member, National Institute of Trial Advocacy

Board of Directors, National Association of State Charity Officials, 2010-2017 (President 2013-2014)