Corporate & Business

Constant involvement in the marketplace. We know that successful transactions require agility, knowledge, relationships, and the broad market and in-depth legal knowledge that one can only gain by high deal flow. We take the time to learn about your investment strategy, business challenges and future goals. We strive to identify potential issues to help you navigate the smoothest road to success. It’s a true partnership that is dedicated to all facets of your business development.

Our various Corporate & Business practice groups collaborate with each other and with other practices within the firm to offer you a robust suite of legal services. From the seasoned policy advisors in our Government Affairs practice to the effectiveness of our Litigation groups, Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck is always there when it matters. We are redefining presence. We are redefining access. We are redefining service.

Contacts
Gregory W. Berger 303.223.1158 gberger@bhfs.com
Recognition

Chambers USA, 2020
Colorado: Corporate M&A

What the team is known for: Maintains an enviable reputation for handling a broad spectrum of transactional matters including M&A and private equity. An excellent choice for advice and representation in a host of issues including joint venture formation and complex regulatory work. National and international clientele is drawn from industries including healthcare, technology, sports and energy.

Strengths: A client attests: "I believe the team is the best in Denver when it comes to more complex banking and finance transactions. They are very business focused and provide advice when asked without getting mired in legal minutiae."

A source notes: "The team is diligent and works on very aggressive time lines. They are readily available and quick to respond. Far superior, smarter, more efficient and better value than others we have engaged." 

Another affirms: "I am very impressed with the team and have high confidence in its level of expertise."

Nevada: Corporate/Commercial

What the team is known for: Highly regarded practice with notable expertise in equity restructuring, financing and M&A matters. Possesses a strong bench of attorneys offering counsel to a variety of borrower and lender clients including gaming companies and financial institutions. Offers particular expertise in matters at the intersection of IP and corporate transactions. Displays strength in handling tender offers, note offerings and corporate governance.

    Representative Matters
    • Counsel to Vigeo Investments, LLC in its investment in Pinnacle Manufacturing, LLC, a manufacturer of mobile metal tanks for the environmental, industrial and gas markets.

    • Counsel to Prairie Dog Pet Products, LLC in the closing of its credit facility with Presidential Financial Corporation.

    • Counsel to Guaranty Bank and Trust in a term loan and revolving credit facility for SpeedPro Imaging, a leading large format custom graphic printing company in the United States and Canada and a portfolio company of Fairfield-Maxwell.

    • Counsel to KeyBank in a term loan and revolving credit facility for Binswanger Enterprises, LLC, a leading manufacturer of glass and aluminum products for construction, residential and automotive markets in the U.S. and a portfolio company of Grey Mountain Partners.

    • Counsel to Victory Park Capital and its portfolio company, VPC Fuller Brush Operating Corp. in a senior secured loan.

    • Nevada counsel in connection with an offering by Reddy Ice Corporation of first lien senior secured notes and an exchange offer of second lien senior secured notes for senior discount notes of Reddy Ice Holdings, Inc.

    • Represented the developer in the acquisition of a vacant hotel, obtaining entitlements for redevelopment of the site as a mixed-use (residential/retail), transit-oriented development; resolution of title matters; construction financing; leasing of retail space and eventual $60.9 million sale of the project in Denver, CO.

    • Counsel to the purchaser/redeveloper of the former Gates Factory site, which consists of 55 acres and 2 million building square feet, located at I-25 and Broadway in Denver. The firm's work for the redevelopment involved brownfields redevelopment, environmental remediation, acquisition of entitlements for a mixed-use transit-oriented development, neighborhood negotiations and structuring of public and private financing.

    • Counsel to a local private foundation in forming a public-private joint venture with a leading medical institution and a leading educational institution with seed and support funding provided by the foundation. The venture was approved by the Colorado Commission on Higher Education and represented the first time such a not-for-profit limited liability company was formed in Colorado.

    • Served as special COP counsel in connection with a $17,735,000 lease purchase financing of the new Denver Botanic Gardens parking garage. Certificates of Participation, Series 2008B, evidenced a proportionate interest in the base rentals and other revenues under an annually-renewable lease purchase agreement between the Denver Botanic Gardens Parking Facility Trust 2008 as lessor, and the City and County of Denver as lessee.

    • Nevada counsel to Quest Resource Corporation in its common stock offering.

    Publications
    News & Events

    Meet The Team

    Steven E. Abelman Shareholder T 303.223.1102 sabelman@bhfs.com
    Adam J. Agron Shareholder T 303.223.1134 aagron@bhfs.com
    David R. Arrajj Shareholder T 702.464.7053 darrajj@bhfs.com
    Robert P. Attai Shareholder T 303.223.1271 rattai@bhfs.com
    Gregory W. Berger Shareholder T 303.223.1158 gberger@bhfs.com
    W. Patrick Berry Associate T 303.223.1122 pberry@bhfs.com
    Andrew S. Brignone Shareholder T 702.464.7006 abrignone@bhfs.com
    Jonathan R. Bloch Shareholder T 310.500.4632 jbloch@bhfs.com
    Jessica M. Burns Attorney T 805.882.1437 jburns@bhfs.com
    Norman Brownstein Founder and Chairman T 303.223.1101 nbrownstein@bhfs.com
    Andrew C. Elliott Shareholder T 303.223.1154 aelliott@bhfs.com
    Frank M. Flansburg III Shareholder T 702.802.2205 fflansburg@bhfs.com
    Kevin A. Cudney Shareholder T 303.223.1166 kcudney@bhfs.com
    Steven C. Demby Shareholder T 303.223.1119 sdemby@bhfs.com
    Allen P. Grunes Shareholder T 202.383.5901 agrunes@bhfs.com
    Amanda Hutson Associate T 303.223.1112 ahutson@bhfs.com
    Aaron M. Hyatt Shareholder T 303.223.1107 ahyatt@bhfs.com
    Albert Z. Kovacs Shareholder T 702.464.7076 akovacs@bhfs.com
    Christopher J. Hand Associate T 303.223.1292 chand@bhfs.com
    Connor D. Hannagan Associate T 303.223.1256 channagan@bhfs.com
    Erin E. Grolle Shareholder T 702.464.7087 egrolle@bhfs.com
    Erik J. Jensen Shareholder T 303.223.1205 ejensen@bhfs.com
    Gregory M. Janssen Associate T 303.223.1288 gjanssen@bhfs.com
    Justin M. Hahn Associate T 303.223.1277 jhahn@bhfs.com
    Joshua M. Hantman Shareholder T 303.223.1216 jhantman@bhfs.com
    Jeffrey M. Knetsch Shareholder T 303.223.1160 jknetsch@bhfs.com
    John S. Kyed Associate T 303.223.1123 jkyed@bhfs.com
    Rob Kaufmann Shareholder T 303.223.1176 rkaufmann@bhfs.com
    Steven A. Jung Senior Counsel T 805.882.1443 sjung@bhfs.com
    Avi Loewenstein Shareholder T 303.223.1136 aloewenstein@bhfs.com
    Alexandra Fidler Metzl Shareholder T 303.223.1157 ametzl@bhfs.com
    Angela Turriciano Otto Shareholder T 702.464.7064 aotto@bhfs.com
    Darryl T. Landahl Shareholder T 303.223.1244 dlandahl@bhfs.com
    Daniel S. Ojserkis Of Counsel T 609.916.5748 dojserkis@bhfs.com
    Gino A. Maurelli Shareholder T 303.223.1115 gmaurelli@bhfs.com
    Jason B. Larkin Of Counsel T 303.223.1274 jlarkin@bhfs.com
    James W. Leighton Associate T 303.223.1243 jleighton@bhfs.com
    Jason C. Moore Shareholder T 303.223.1121 jmoore@bhfs.com
    Jessica M. Moyeda Associate T 702.464.7014 jmoyeda@bhfs.com
    Kristin Macdonald Shareholder T 303.223.1242 kmacdonald@bhfs.com
    Matthew R. Nyberg Shareholder T 303.223.1153 mnyberg@bhfs.com
    Trayton D. Oakes Associate T 303.223.1295 toakes@bhfs.com
    Paul M. O’Gara Shareholder T 609.241.0174 pogara@bhfs.com
    Rikard D. Lundberg Shareholder T 303.223.1232 rlundberg@bhfs.com
    Rebecca L. Miltenberger Shareholder T 702.464.7052 rmiltenberger@bhfs.com
    Scott McEachron Associate T 303.223.1278 smceachron@bhfs.com
    J. Tenley Oldak Shareholder T 303.223.1159 toldak@bhfs.com
    Amalia Sax-Bolder Associate T 303.223.1227 asax-bolder@bhfs.com
    Adam P. Segal Shareholder T 702.464.7001 asegal@bhfs.com
    Charlotte S. Phelps Associate T 303.223.1294 cphelps@bhfs.com
    Christine E. Ray Of Counsel T 805.882.1423 cray@bhfs.com
    Christine A. Samsel Shareholder T 303.223.1133 csamsel@bhfs.com
    Cara R. Sterling Shareholder T 303.223.1141 csterling@bhfs.com
    Cecily S. Sweet Associate T 303.223.1296 csweet@bhfs.com
    David M. Spaulding Shareholder T 303.223.1241 dspaulding@bhfs.com
    Elizabeth D. Paulsen Shareholder T 303.223.1187 epaulsen@bhfs.com
    Ellen Schulhofer Shareholder T 702.464.7059 eschulhofer@bhfs.com
    Frank A. Schreck Shareholder T 702.382.2101 fschreck@bhfs.com
    George Short Shareholder T 805.882.1441 gshort@bhfs.com
    Hal Stratton Shareholder T 505.724.9596 hstratton@bhfs.com
    Ishra K. Solieman Staff Attorney T 303.260.1880 isolieman@bhfs.com
    Joshua P. Rabinowitz Shareholder T 805.882.1421 jrabinowitz@bhfs.com
    Jay Spader Shareholder T 303.223.1146 jspader@bhfs.com
    Michael J. Pankow Shareholder T 303.223.1106 mpankow@bhfs.com
    Michelle Lee Pickett Shareholder T 805.882.1422 mpickett@bhfs.com
    Mark R. Starr Associate T 702.464.7093 mstarr@bhfs.com
    Nancy A. Strelau Shareholder T 303.223.1151 nstrelau@bhfs.com
    Scott Scherer Shareholder T 775.398.3804 sscherer@bhfs.com
    Margaux Trammell Shareholder T 303.223.1192 mtrammell@bhfs.com
    Martine Tariot Wells Shareholder T 303.223.1213 mwells@bhfs.com
    Neal Tomlinson Shareholder T 702.464.7043 ntomlinson@bhfs.com
    Sonia Church Vermeys Shareholder T 702.464.7066 svermeys@bhfs.com
    Scott E. Wiegand Shareholder T 702.464.7095 swiegand@bhfs.com
    Sheila M. Grisham Paralegal T 303.223.1377 sgrisham@bhfs.com
    Jean M. Harrison Paralegal T 303.223.1383 jharrison@bhfs.com
    Julie Obermeyer Paralegal T 702.464.7079 jobermeyer@bhfs.com
    Karen R. Smith Paralegal T 303.223.1390 ksmith@bhfs.com
    Kathy L. Oster Paralegal T 303.223.1343 koster@bhfs.com
    Kimberly A. Mumford Paralegal T 805.882.1478 kmumford@bhfs.com
    Kate M. Meade Paralegal T 303.223.1339 kmeade@bhfs.com
    Sara R. Mares Paralegal T 303.223.1476 smares@bhfs.com
    Shannon M. Kline Paralegal T 702.464.7088 skline@bhfs.com
    Stephanie Klepp Paralegal T 303.223.1395 sklepp@bhfs.com
    Valerie H. Brown Paralegal T 303.223.1318 vbrown@bhfs.com