Air Quality - Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck

From Clean Air Act permitting to air pollution control, environmental regulations have become increasingly relevant to the business world. We are dedicated to responsible environmental representation through highly focused and integrated natural resources practices, among them our Air Quality Group. Our accomplished team of attorneys provides progressive counsel to help businesses excel in today’s climate of growing environmental sensitivity.

The Air Quality Group represents diverse clients in all facets of air quality-related permitting, compliance, enforcement and rulemaking at the federal, state and local levels. Our work with permitting under the federal Clean Air Act includes Title V operating permits, new source review and new source performance standards. At both the federal and state levels, the group has significant experience assisting businesses with hazardous and toxic air pollutant issues.

We routinely work with local air quality management districts, state air pollution control agencies and federal enforcement agencies on behalf of our clients. This extensive background helps us provide guidance that moves projects forward to avoid tedious or expensive regulatory challenges.

The Air Quality Group also has deep experience litigating final agency actions and enforcement proceedings. We have represented coal-fired power plants, generation and transmission companies, cement manufacturers, bicarbonate solution mining, high-tech resin producers and many other operations with air quality concerns. 

Representative Matters
  • Counsel to PolyNatura Corporation (formerly International Potash Corp.) in all aspects of developing one of the largest potash mines in the country. Representation included guiding the company through every aspect of the multi-year NEPA and the Endangered Species Act permitting process and obtaining all necessary federal, state and local permits.

  • Successfully defended GCC against a local environmental group in New Mexico seeking to appeal an air quality permit.

News & Events

Meet The Team

Jon Hrobsky Policy Director T 202.872.5294
William J. McGrath Shareholder T 202.383.4703
Jason C. Moore Shareholder T 303.223.1121
Ronda L. Sandquist Shareholder T 303.223.1191
Eric Waeckerlin Shareholder T 303.223.1290