Mining - Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck

For decades, we have helped clients throughout the West overcome the hurdles to successfully developing, operating and reclaiming a mine—complex regulations, growing public activism and stringent oversight from federal, state and local agencies. 

Our Mining Group has worked on every aspect of mine development and cleanup. We assist mining clients with corporate needs, including acquisition and disposition of mining properties, mergers and acquisitions and finding the most efficient bonding mechanisms. We represent mining clients in obtaining water rights for operations, permitting, the use and disposal of mine wastewater and obtaining necessary permits to allow mines to operate. We also frequently guide clients through the complex National Environmental Policy Act and Endangered Species regulatory system, which can pose difficult obstacles to mine development and operation.

In the courtroom and before administrative agencies, our attorneys have successfully represented mine developers and subcontractors in some of the most significant mining litigation matters in the U.S. involving mine reclamation and waste discharge issues. We have a proven track record of helping our clients resolve administrative violations with federal and state agencies, including alleged violations that threaten to stop development or operation of the mine.

Members of our Mining Group, including a former solicitor of the Department of the Interior, have worked on significant mining issues while working for Congress and federal and state agencies, including Congressional committees, the Departments of Interior, Energy and Justice, the Environmental Protection Agency and state agencies. 

Meet The Team

Martha L. Fitzgerald Shareholder T 303.223.1472
Jon Hrobsky Policy Director T 202.872.5294
Christine A. Jochim Shareholder T 303.223.1163
Luke D. Johnson Policy Director T 202.747.0513
Mark J. Mathews Shareholder T 303.223.1179
William J. McGrath Shareholder T 202.383.4703
Andrew Spielman Shareholder T 303.223.1250
Hal Stratton Shareholder T 505.724.9596
Michael P. Smith Associate T 303.223.1150
Ronda L. Sandquist Shareholder T 303.223.1191
Eric Waeckerlin Shareholder T 303.223.1290